Mathematics Faculty

Davide La Torre
Position: Full Professor and Department Chair
Email: davide.latorre@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.220
Research Interest: Mathematical Modeling; Fractals and Dynamical Systems; Inverse Problems for Differential Equations; Multiple Criteria Decision Making; Optimal Control
Phone: ---

281384
Dongming Wei [CV]
Position: Full Professor
Email: dongming.wei@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.222
Research Interest: Modeling with nonlinear differential equations; Finite element analysis; Nonlinear solid and fluid mechanical behavior of advanced materials; Biomedical systems and and MEMS modeling and simulation; Geometric programming; Option price and actuarial insurance models
Phone: +7 (7172) 709388

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA
Anastasios Bountis [CV]
Position: Full Professor and Graduate Program Chair
Email: anastasios.bountis@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.221
Research Interest: Nonlinear Dynamical Systems; Chaos and Fractals, Nonlinear Differential Equations; Dynamics and Statistics of Hamiltonian Lattices; Synchronization in Biological Oscillators with applications to Neuroscience; Nonlinear Optics; Complexity Science
Phone: +7 (7172) 709092
Website: https://www.math.upatras.gr/~bountis

303400
Ken Nordstrom
Position: Full Professor
Email: kenneth.nordstrom@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.235
Research Interest: 3D shapes; quaternion-valued random elements; operator/matrix-convexity and monotonicity; inferential reduction for large data sets; multivariate meta-analysis
Phone: +7(7172) 709114

227275
Ayman Alzaatreh
Position: Associate Professor
Email: ayman.alzaatreh@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.231
Research Interest: Generalized families of distributions arising from the hazard function; Mathematical statistics; Statistical inference for probability models; Data Mining
Phone: +7 (7172) 694674

73354
Mark Lawrence
Position: Associate Professor
Email: mlawrence@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.230
Research Interest: Multivariable complex analysis
Phone: +7 (7172) 706567

website_pic
Igor Melnykov
Position: Associate Professor
Email: igor.melnykov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.247
Research Interest: Cluster analysis; Finite mixture models; Multiple hypothesis testing
Phone: +7 (7172) 694677

73477
Galym Akishev
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: gakishev@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Applications of multiple criteria decision making
Phone: +7 (7172) 706570

IMG_2019
Alejandro J. Castro Castilla
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: alejandro.castilla@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Harmonic Analysis; Partial Differential Equations; Singular Integrals; Oscillatory Integrals; Boundary Value Problems; Schrödinger Equation
Phone: +7 (7172) 709098
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/ajcastroajcastro/home

73348
Yogi Erlangga
Position: Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Chair
Email: yogi.erlangga@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.203
Research Interest: PDEs and numerical solutions; Matrix analysis; Numerical linear algebra; Optimization with PDE constraints
Phone: +7 (7172) 705786

119902
Shirali Kadyrov
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: shirali.kadyrov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.203
Research Interest: Ergodic Theory; Diophantine Approximation
Phone: +7 (7172) 709109

Pic
Zhibek Kadyrsizova
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: zhibek.kadyrsizova@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7-519
Research Interest: Commutative algebra; Singularities in positive prime characteristic
Phone: +7 (7172) 695764

281395
Eunghyun Lee
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: eunghyun.lee@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.203
Research Interest: Probability; Stochastic Processes; Statistical Physics; Mathematical Physics; Applied Harmonic Analysis
Phone: +7 (7172) 699071

mach
Thomas Mach
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: thomas.mach@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Numerical linear algebra for large or structured matrices, especially eigenvalue algorithms; Tensor-structured, hierarchical, data-sparse, and rank structured matrices; Unitary eigenvalue problems; Polynomial root-finding; Inverse eigenvalue problems; Adaptive cross approximation; Krylov subspaces; Givens rotations
Phone: +7 (7172) 704664
Website: https://sites.google.com/a/nu.edu.kz/thomasmach/home?pli=1

205835
Manat Mustafa
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: manat.mustafa@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Mathematical Logic; Computability Theory
Phone: +7(7172) 694670

221400
Natalya Pya [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: natalya.pya@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Statistical regression modelling
Phone: +7(7172)709084

73480
Francesco Sica
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: francesco.sica@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.203
Research Interest: Public-key cryptography; Elliptic curves; Integer factorization; Number theory
Phone: +7 (7172) 705775

IMG_9717
Daniel Oliveira da Silva
Position: Assistant professor
Email: daniel.dasilva@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Partial differential equations; Harmonic analysis; Quantum field theory
Phone: +7 (7172) 706598

281361
Piotr Skrzypacz [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: piotr.skrzypacz@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Finite Elements for Fluid Dynamics; Superconvergence; Nonlinear Finite Elements
Phone: +7 (7172) 709352

227276
Rustem Takhanov
Position: Assistant professor
Email: takhanov@mail.ru
Office: 7.228
Research Interest: Machine learning; Constraint satisfaction problem and its soft versions; Sequence labeling; Protein conformation prediction
Phone: +7 (7172) 704684

_avatar180
Zhenisbek Assylbekov
Position: Instructor
Email: zhassylbekov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Statistics; Machine learning; Natural language processing
Phone: +7 (7172) 706619

281356
Bibinur Shupeyeva
Position: Instructor
Email: bibinur.shupeyeva@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Analytical methods in Partial Differential Equations; Boundary value problems; Complex analysis and its application
Phone: +7 (7172) 704669

177998
Zhumagali Shomanov
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: zhumagali.shomanov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Number Theory; Algebra
Phone: +7 (7172) 709093

photo_RZ
Raushan Zhumanova
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: raushan.zhumanova@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Financial and Actuarial Mathematics
Phone: +7 (7172) 705780