Mathematics Faculty

281384
Dongming Wei, PhD [CV]
Position: Full Professor and Acting Chair
Email: dongming.wei@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.220
Research Interest: Modeling with nonlinear differential equations; Finite element analysis; Nonlinear solid and fluid mechanical behavior of advanced materials; Biomedical systems and and MEMS modeling and simulation; Geometric programming; Option price and actuarial insurance models
Phone: +7 (7172) 709388
Website: https://sites.google.com/nu.edu.kz/dongmingwei

PENTAX DIGITAL CAMERA
Anastasios Bountis, PhD [CV]
Position: Full Professor and Graduate Program Chair
Email: anastasios.bountis@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.221
Research Interest: Nonlinear Dynamical Systems; Chaos and Fractals, Nonlinear Differential Equations; Dynamics and Statistics of Hamiltonian Lattices; Synchronization in Biological Oscillators with applications to Neuroscience; Nonlinear Optics; Complexity Science
Phone: +7 (7172) 709092
Website: https://www.math.upatras.gr/~bountis

latorre_photo
Davide La Torre, PhD
Position: Full Professor (on leave)
Email: davide.latorre@nu.edu.kz
Research Interest: Decision Making, Mathematical Economics, Mathematical Finance, Mathematical Modeling, Operations Research

303400
Ken Nordstrom, PhD
Position: Full Professor
Email: kenneth.nordstrom@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.235
Research Interest: 3D shapes; quaternion-valued random elements; operator/matrix-convexity and monotonicity; inferential reduction for large data sets; multivariate meta-analysis
Phone: +7(7172) 709114

227275
Ayman Alzaatreh, PhD
Position: Associate Professor (on leave)
Email: ayman.alzaatreh@nu.edu.kz
Research Interest: Generalized families of distributions arising from the hazard function; Mathematical statistics; Statistical inference for probability models; Data Mining

73354
Mark Lawrence, PhD
Position: Associate Professor
Email: mlawrence@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.230
Research Interest: Multivariable complex analysis
Phone: +7 (7172) 706567

IMG_2019
Alejandro J. Castro Castilla, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: alejandro.castilla@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Harmonic Analysis; Partial Differential Equations; Singular Integrals; Oscillatory Integrals; Boundary Value Problems; Schrödinger Equation; Inverse Problems
Phone: +7 (7172) 709098
Website: https://sites.google.com/site/ajcastroajcastro/home

IMG-20150802-WA0008
Ardak Kashkynbayev, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: ardak.kashkynbayev@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.236
Research Interest: Ordinary Differential Equations, Delay Differential Equations, Impulsive Differential Equations, Nonautonomous Dynamical Systems, Chaos, Bifurcation, Mathematical Neuroscience
Phone: +7 (7172) 694692

IMG_9717
Daniel Oliveira da Silva, PhD
Position: Assistant professor
Email: daniel.dasilva@nu.edu.kz
Office: 6.250
Research Interest: Nonlinear partial differential equations, harmonic analysis
Phone: +7 (7172) 706598

281395
Eunghyun Lee, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: eunghyun.lee@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.203
Research Interest: Probability; Stochastic Processes; Statistical Physics; Mathematical Physics; Applied Harmonic Analysis
Phone: +7 (7172) 709071
Website: https://sites.google.com/a/nu.edu.kz/eunghyun-lee-s-homepage/

73480
Francesco Sica, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: francesco.sica@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.203
Research Interest: Public-key cryptography; Elliptic curves; Integer factorization; Number theory
Phone: +7 (7172) 705775
Website: http://francescosica.org/Francesco_Sica/Welcome.html

73477
Galym Akishev, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: gakishev@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Applications of multiple criteria decision making
Phone: +7 (7172) 706570

205835
Manat Mustafa, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: manat.mustafa@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.249
Research Interest: Mathematical Logic, Computability theory, Algebra, Set theory, Operator theory
Phone: +7(7172) 694670
Website: https://sites.google.com/nu.edu.kz/manatmustafa/home?authuser=1

221400
Natalya Pya, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor (on leave)
Email: natalya.pya@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Statistical regression modelling
Phone: +7(7172)709084

281361
Piotr Skrzypacz, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: piotr.skrzypacz@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Finite Elements for Fluid Dynamics; Superconvergence; Nonlinear Finite Elements
Phone: +7 (7172) 709352

227276
Rustem Takhanov, PhD
Position: Assistant professor
Email: rustem.takhanov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Machine learning; Constraint satisfaction problem and its soft versions; Sequence labeling;
Phone: +7 (7172) 704684

mach
Thomas Mach, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: thomas.mach@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Numerical linear algebra for large or structured matrices, especially eigenvalue algorithms; Tensor-structured, hierarchical, data-sparse, and rank structured matrices; Unitary eigenvalue problems; Polynomial root-finding; Inverse eigenvalue problems; Adaptive cross approximation; Krylov subspaces; Givens rotations
Phone: +7 (7172) 694664
Website: https://sites.google.com/a/nu.edu.kz/thomasmach/home?pli=1

73348
Yogi Erlangga, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Program Chair
Email: yogi.erlangga@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.203
Research Interest: PDEs and numerical solutions; Matrix analysis; Numerical linear algebra; Optimization with PDE constraints
Phone: +7 (7172) 705786

_avatar180
Zhenisbek Assylbekov, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: zhassylbekov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Statistics, machine learning, natural language processing
Phone: +7 (7172) 706619

Pic
Zhibek Kadyrsizova, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: zhibek.kadyrsizova@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7-519
Research Interest: Commutative algebra; Singularities in positive prime characteristic
Phone: +7 (7172) 705764

281356
Bibinur Shupeyeva, PhD
Position: Instructor
Email: bibinur.shupeyeva@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Analytical methods in Partial Differential Equations; Boundary value problems; Complex analysis and its application
Phone: +7 (7172) 694669

photo_RZ
Raushan Zhumanova
Position: Instructor
Email: raushan.zhumanova@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Financial and Actuarial Mathematics
Phone: +7 (7172) 705780

177998
Zhumagali Shomanov
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: zhumagali.shomanov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.519
Research Interest: Number Theory; Algebra
Phone: +7 (7172) 709093