Physics Faculty

202769
Vassilios Kovanis, PhD [CV]
Position: Department Chair, Professor
Email: vassilios.kovanis@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.334
Research Interest: Theoretical, numerical, analytical and experimental work in ultrafast photonics, applied nonlinear dynamics, tunable photonic oscillators and photonic clocks, next generation optical and radio frequency metamaterials, control and synchronization of chaotic waveforms, phased arrays of coupled oscillators and laser emitters, science policy and technology investment strategy.
Phone: +7 (7212) 709108

IMG_8636
Aikaterini Mandilara, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: aikaterini.mandilara@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.343
Research Interest: Quantum Entanglement, Quantum Optics, Atomic Ensembles, Quantum Information and Communication, Uncertainty Relations
Phone: +7 (7172) 709377
Website: www.qubit.kz

279339
Anton Desyatnikov, PhD
Position: Full Professor
Email: anton.desyatnikov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.335
Research Interest: Nonlinear and singular optics, the dynamics of optical solitons and nonlinear waves, optical vortices and polarization singularities, angular momentum of light, photonic lattices.
Phone: +7 (7172) 705916

Askhat Jumabekov
Askhat N. Jumabekov, Dr. rer. nat. (PhD) [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: askhat.jumabekov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7е.535
Research Interest: Semiconductors and devices, optoelectronics and photovoltaics, micro- and nano-fabrication, functional nanomaterials and nanotechnology

204613
Alexander Tikhonov, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: atikhonov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.337
Research Interest: Both theory and experiment in the fields of photonic properties of nanomaterials and molecular electronics. Recently he focuses in fabrication, characterization and applications of photonic colloidal crystals.
Phone: +7 (7212) 706594

279336
Constantinos Valagiannopoulos, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: konstantinos.valagiannopoulos@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.337
Research Interest: Photonics, Metamaterials, Graphene, Inverse Design.
Phone: +7 (7172) 709103

202766
Daniele Malafarina, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: daniele.malafarina@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.342
Research Interest: General relativity, cosmology, black holes, singularities, semiclassical approaches to quantum gravity
Phone: +7 (7172) 694661

204614
Ernazar Abdikamalov, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: ernazar.abdikamalov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.336
Research Interest: Computational and theoretical astrophysics. Radiation transport, hydrodynamics, nuclear and neutrino astrophysics, numerical relativity, and high-performance computing.
Phone: +7 (7212) 694662

233292
Jean-Jacques Zondy, PhD [CV]
Position: Associate Professor
Email: jeanjacques.zondy@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.340
Research Interest: Laser Spectroscopy, Nonlinear Dynamics, Chi^2 Nonlinear Optics, Laser Physics and Engineering, Numerical Modeling in Optics, Optics, Nonlinear Optics, Optics Materials, Frequency Stability, Laser, Nonlinear Physics, Femtosecond Lasers.
Phone: +7(7172) 694687

202767
Michael Good, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: michael.good@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.341
Research Interest: Quantum Fields, Statistical Mechanics and Thermodynamics, General Relativity
Phone: +7 (7172) 694660

202768
Sergiy Bubin, PhD
Position: Associate Professor
Email: sergiy.bubin@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.333
Research Interest: Atomic and molecular physics, quantum chemistry, few-body systems, strong-field phenomena, quantum dynamics
Phone: +7 (7172) 694663
Website: http://sergiybubin.org

301376
Thomas Oikonomou, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: thomas.oikonomou@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.536
Research Interest: Non-Equilibrium Statistical Mechanics, Complex Systems Analysis, Thermostatistics of Non-extensive Systems, Breathers, Long Range Correlations, Applications in DNA and Bioinformatics
Phone: +7(7172) 704673

202762
Zhandos Utegulov, PhD
Position: Associate Professor
Email: zhutegulov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.339
Research Interest: Laser-based Material Science
Phone: +7 (7172) 706554

DSC 9147
Mikhail Denissenya, PhD [CV]
Position: Instructor
Email: mikhail.denissenya@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7e.332
Research Interest: Cosmology, Quantum Field Theory, Strongly Interacting Matter

photo
Dana Alina, PhD
Position: Postdoc
Email: dana.alina@nu.edu.kz
Research Interest: observational astrophysics, interstellar medium, star formation, magnetic fields, polarization
Website: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=MYJ3raEAAAAJ&hl=ru

Picture_Farzadian
Omid Farzadian, PhD [CV]
Position: Postdoc
Email: omid.farzadian@gmail.com
Research Interest: Statistical Mechanics and Computer Simulation of disorder lattices, Localization Theory
Phone: +(98) 912 4415770

Ayan_1500x2000
Ayan Nussupbekov
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: ayan.nussupbekov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.510
Research Interest: omputational and theoretical astrophysics, numerical modelling, neutron stars, supernova, black holes.
Phone: +7 (7172) 69 46 85

Kamilya TA
Kamilya Yessimbet
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: kamilya.yessimbet@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.510
Research Interest: Ultra-high energy cosmic rays, extensive air showers

4x3
Shapagat Berdibek
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: shapagat.berdibek@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.510
Phone: +7 (7172) 709099