Physics Faculty

202769
Vassilios Kovanis, PhD [CV]
Position: Department Chair, Professor
Research Interest: Theoretical, numerical, analytical and experimental work in ultrafast photonics, applied nonlinear dynamics, tunable photonic oscillators and photonic clocks, next generation optical and radio frequency metamaterials, control and synchronization of chaotic waveforms, phased arrays of coupled oscillators and laser emitters, science policy and technology investment strategy.
Office: 7e.334
Email: vassilios.kovanis@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7212) 709108

IMG_8636
Aikaterini Mandilara, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Quantum Entanglement, Quantum Optics, Atomic Ensembles, Quantum Information and Communication, Uncertainty Relations
Office: 7e.343
Email: aikaterini.mandilara@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 709377
Website: www.qubit.kz

279339
Anton Desyatnikov, PhD
Position: Full Professor
Research Interest: Nonlinear and singular optics, the dynamics of optical solitons and nonlinear waves, optical vortices and polarization singularities, angular momentum of light, photonic lattices.
Office: 7e.335
Email: anton.desyatnikov@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 705916

Askhat Jumabekov
Askhat N. Jumabekov, Dr. rer. nat. (PhD) [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Semiconductors and devices, optoelectronics and photovoltaics, micro- and nano-fabrication, functional nanomaterials and nanotechnology
Office: 7е.535
Email: askhat.jumabekov@nu.edu.kz

204613
Alexander Tikhonov, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Both theory and experiment in the fields of photonic properties of nanomaterials and molecular electronics. Recently he focuses in fabrication, characterization and applications of photonic colloidal crystals.
Office: 7e.337
Email: atikhonov@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7212) 706594

279336
Constantinos Valagiannopoulos, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Photonics, Metamaterials, Graphene, Inverse Design.
Office: 7e.337
Email: konstantinos.valagiannopoulos@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 709103

202766
Daniele Malafarina, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: General relativity, cosmology, black holes, singularities, semiclassical approaches to quantum gravity
Office: 7e.342
Email: daniele.malafarina@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 694661

204614
Ernazar Abdikamalov, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Computational and theoretical astrophysics. Radiation transport, hydrodynamics, nuclear and neutrino astrophysics, numerical relativity, and high-performance computing.
Office: 7e.336
Email: ernazar.abdikamalov@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7212) 694662

233292
Jean-Jacques Zondy, PhD [CV]
Position: Associate Professor
Research Interest: Laser Spectroscopy, Nonlinear Dynamics, Chi^2 Nonlinear Optics, Laser Physics and Engineering, Numerical Modeling in Optics, Optics, Nonlinear Optics, Optics Materials, Frequency Stability, Laser, Nonlinear Physics, Femtosecond Lasers.
Office: 7e.340
Email: jeanjacques.zondy@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7(7172) 694687

202767
Michael Good, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Quantum Fields, Statistical Mechanics and Thermodynamics, General Relativity
Office: 7e.341
Email: michael.good@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 694660

202768
Sergiy Bubin, PhD
Position: Associate Professor
Research Interest: Atomic and molecular physics, quantum chemistry, few-body systems, strong-field phenomena, quantum dynamics
Office: 7e.333
Email: sergiy.bubin@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 694663
Website: http://sergiybubin.org

301376
Thomas Oikonomou, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Research Interest: Non-Equilibrium Statistical Mechanics, Complex Systems Analysis, Thermostatistics of Non-extensive Systems, Breathers, Long Range Correlations, Applications in DNA and Bioinformatics
Office: 7e.536
Email: thomas.oikonomou@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7(7172) 704673

202762
Zhandos Utegulov, PhD
Position: Associate Professor
Research Interest: Laser-based Material Science
Office: 7e.339
Email: zhutegulov@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 706554

DSC 9147
Mikhail Denissenya, PhD [CV]
Position: Instructor
Research Interest: Cosmology, Quantum Field Theory, Strongly Interacting Matter
Office: 7e.332
Email: mikhail.denissenya@nu.edu.kz

photo
Dana Alina, PhD
Position: Postdoc
Research Interest: observational astrophysics, interstellar medium, star formation, magnetic fields, polarization
Email: dana.alina@nu.edu.kz
Website: https://scholar.google.com/citations?user=MYJ3raEAAAAJ&hl=ru

Picture_Farzadian
Omid Farzadian, PhD [CV]
Position: Postdoc
Research Interest: Statistical Mechanics and Computer Simulation of disorder lattices, Localization Theory
Email: omid.farzadian@gmail.com
Phone: +(98) 912 4415770

Ayan_1500x2000
Ayan Nussupbekov
Position: Teaching Assistant
Research Interest: omputational and theoretical astrophysics, numerical modelling, neutron stars, supernova, black holes.
Office: 7.510
Email: ayan.nussupbekov@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 69 46 85

Kamilya TA
Kamilya Yessimbet
Position: Teaching Assistant
Research Interest: Ultra-high energy cosmic rays, extensive air showers
Office: 7.510
Email: kamilya.yessimbet@nu.edu.kz

4x3
Shapagat Berdibek
Position: Teaching Assistant
Office: 7.510
Email: shapagat.berdibek@nu.edu.kz
Phone: +7 (7172) 709099