Physics Faculty

202769
Vassilios Kovanis, PhD [CV]
Position: Department Chair, Professor
Email: vassilios.kovanis@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.229
Research Interest: Theoretical, numerical, analytical and experimental work in ultrafast photonics, applied nonlinear dynamics, tunable photonic oscillators and photonic clocks, next generation optical and radio frequency metamaterials, control and synchronization of chaotic waveforms, phased arrays of coupled oscillators and laser emitters, science policy and technology investment strategy.
Phone: +7 (7212) 709108

279339
Anton Desyatnikov, PhD
Position: Full Professor
Email: anton.desyatnikov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.228
Research Interest: Nonlinear and singular optics, the dynamics of optical solitons and nonlinear waves, optical vortices and polarization singularities, angular momentum of light, photonic lattices.
Phone: +7 (7172) 705916

233292
Jean-Jacques Zondy, PhD [CV]
Position: Associate Professor
Email: jeanjacques.zondy@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.233
Research Interest: Laser Spectroscopy, Nonlinear Dynamics, Chi^2 Nonlinear Optics, Laser Physics and Engineering, Numerical Modeling in Optics, Optics, Nonlinear Optics, Optics Materials, Frequency Stability, Laser, Nonlinear Physics, Femtosecond Lasers.
Phone: +7(7172) 694687

202768
Sergiy Bubin, PhD
Position: Associate Professor
Email: sergiy.bubin@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.204
Research Interest: Atomic and molecular physics, quantum chemistry, few-body systems, strong-field phenomena, quantum dynamics
Phone: +7 (7172) 694663

202762
Zhandos Utegulov, PhD
Position: Associate Professor
Email: zhutegulov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.204
Research Interest: Laser-based Material Science
Phone: +7 (7172) 706554

2016_0511_135447_004ss
Aikaterini Mandilara, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: aikaterini.mandilara@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.213
Research Interest: Quantum Entanglement, Quantum Optics, Atomic Ensembles, Quantum Information and Communication, Uncertainty Relations
Phone: +7 (7172) 709377

204613
Alexander Tikhonov, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: atikhonov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 9.302
Research Interest: Both theory and experiment in the fields of photonic properties of nanomaterials and molecular electronics. Recently he focuses in fabrication, characterization and applications of photonic colloidal crystals.
Phone: +7 (7212) 706594

202766
Daniele Malafarina, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: daniele.malafarina@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.202
Research Interest: General relativity, cosmology, black holes, singularities, semiclassical approaches to quantum gravity
Phone: +7 (7172) 694661

202765
Dmitriy Beznosko, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: dmitriy.beznosko@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.312
Research Interest: High Energy Physics - ultra-high energy cosmic rays, particle detectors, instrumentation
Phone: +7 (7172) 709106

204614
Ernazar Abdikamalov, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: ernazar.abdikamalov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.202
Research Interest: Computational and theoretical astrophysics. Radiation transport, hydrodynamics, nuclear and neutrino astrophysics, numerical relativity, and high-performance computing.
Phone: +7 (7212) 694662

279336
Konstantinos Valagiannopoulos, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: konstantinos.valagiannopoulos@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.204
Research Interest: Photonics, Electromagnetics, Metamaterials, 2D Media.
Phone: +7 (7172) 709103

202767
Michael Good, PhD [CV]
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: michael.good@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.202
Research Interest: Quantum Fields, Statistical Mechanics and Thermodynamics, General Relativity
Phone: +7 (7172) 694660

301376
Thomas Oikonomou, PhD
Position: Assistant Professor
Email: thomas.oikonomou@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.202
Research Interest: Non-Equilibrium Statistical Mechanics, Complex Systems Analysis, Thermostatistics of Non-extensive Systems, Breathers, Long Range Correlations, Applications in DNA and Bioinformatics
Phone: +7(7172) 704673

Ayan_1500x2000
Ayan Nussupbekov
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: ayan.nussupbekov@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.510
Research Interest: omputational and theoretical astrophysics, numerical modelling, neutron stars, supernova, black holes.
Phone: +7 (7172) 69 46 85

4x3
Shapagat Berdibek
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: shapagat.berdibek@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.510
Phone: +7 (7172) 709099

Kamilya TA
Kamilya Yessimbet
Position: Teaching Assistant
Email: kamilya.yessimbet@nu.edu.kz
Office: 7.510
Research Interest: Ultra-high energy cosmic rays, extensive air showers